IAAF World U18 championships kick off in Nairobi Featured

Written by  Published in Sports Wednesday, 12 July 2017 18:49
The 2017 World Under 18 Athletics championships kicked off today (Wednesday) at the Kasarani Stadium with over 1300 athletes from 131 countries participating.
Several hits have already taken place including the 1500 meters where Kenyans Dominic Kipkemboi won in the first round while George Meitamei Manag’oi won in the second hit.
Athletes who will be battling for the medals during the five day championship had a feel of the newly laid synthetic track Tuesday at the 60 thousand seater Kasarani stadium.
Organizers have promised to deliver a successful Under 18 athletics championship. This year’s Under 18 championship will be the last one after it was removed from IAAF competitions calendar last year.
Security has also been enhanced in and around the venue with the setting up of a police station inside the stadium’s precincts as this is expected to keep at bay lawbreakers.
The five day event will be officially opened by President Uhuru Kenyatta Wednesday afternoon.
Meanwhile, International Association of Athletics Federations boss Sebastian Coe who officially launched the 2017 World under 18 Championship at Kasarani says he was impressed by Kenya’s preparations towards hosting of the global event which got underway today (wednesday) 
Coe, who addressed the press Tuesday at Kasarani, expressed confidence that Kenya will host a successful event. He said that the IAAF council will introduce youth engagement programs through the social media to protect youth athletes from doping cartels.
It will be an historical moment for Kenya being the first nation in the African Sub Saharan to host the championship.
Kenya will be represented by a total 58 athletes who will be seeking to clinch more gold medals.  It will be the 10th and last edition of the championship that has attracted over 1200 athletes from over 130 countries.
Last modified on Wednesday, 12 July 2017 18:57

Photo Gallery

İstanbul Ayasofya CamiŞanlıurfa BalıklıgölKonya MevlânâBursa Suuçtu ŞelalesiAnkara Eski T.B.M.M.